SJSports Online
High School XC Links

High School Indoor T&F Links

High School Outdoor T&F Links

Track & Field Links

Cross Country Spotlight:
Devils Record Second Consecutive Third Place Finish

Sunday, October 15, 2006

By Bob Heller
USIP Sports Information Director

In their final regular season meet before the Central Atlantic Collegiate conference championships, the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia women's cross country team recorded their second consecutive third place finish at yesterday's Cabrini Invitational at Belmont Plateau in Philadelphia.

The Devils finished with 66 points, just one shy on second place Gwynedd-Mercy College. Ursinus College won the meet with a score of 27 points.

Leading the way for USP, as she has all season, was Joy Aifuwa (Jr., Edison HS/Edison, N.J.). Aifuwa completed the 5,000-meter course in 20:09.24, her fastest 5K time this year and good enough for third place overall. Hayley Lentz (So., Wilson Area HS/Easton, Pa.) followed in 11th place overall with a time of 22:10.09.

USP's next two finishers also broke the 22-minute mark. Beth Crawford (Fr., Camden Catholic HS/Haddon Heights, N.J.) finished in 17th place overall with a time of 22:41.83 while Jean Dugan (Jr., Methacton HS/Norristown, Pa.) was just two places behind her in 19th place with a time of 22:57.87

Shelby Rance (Sr., Central Columbia HS/Bloomsburg, Pa.) was the Devils' fifth finisher with a time of 23:28.29; good enough for 25th place overall. Sarah Verbyla (Fr., Wyoming Valley West HS/Larksville, Pa.) was right behind Rance in 26th place with a time of 23:39.50

Rounding out the Devils' finishers were Dana Lulias (Jr., Bishop Shanahan HS/West Chester, Pa.) and Amanda Reed (Sr., Haverford HS/Haverford, Pa.). Lulias was 31st overall with a time of 24:27.23 while Reed was 40th with a time of 26:09.34

Yesterday's meet concluded the regular season for USP. The Devils will compete in the CACC Cross Country Championships next Saturday at Carousel Park in Wilmington, Delaware. The women's race will start at 10:30 a.m., followed by the men.