Ad SJSports Online
High School Links

Ice Hockey Links

High School Ice Hockey:
Annual Hockey Awards Announced

Thursday, March 1, 2007

By Mike Costantino
SJSports Staff Writer

As we conclude our ninth season covering high school ice hockey in the SJHSIHL, this is the eighth year we at South Jersey Sports Online have given out awards to the players and once again selecting the top players has been very difficult. For the second time we are awarding 2 trophies in Tier1. We would like to congratulate the winners and you as well can congratulate them at the award ceremony which will be prior to the start of the Tier 1 championship game, time and place to be announced. Listed below are the winners:

Tier 1 Players of the Year:

Colin Davis - Washington Township

Davis led his team in goals with 31 and in points with 59 and was the playmaker on the ice, creating opportunities almost every shift.


Matt McDonald - Shawnee High School

McDonald led the league in scoring with 62 points and helped his team to a 16-1-1 record.

Coach of the Year
Jim Pezzato, Shawnee High School

In what looked like a rebuilding year Shawnee finished with the best record and enters the tournament as the team to beat.

Special Recognition Award
Coach Jim Welch, Holy Cross High School

Receiving a special award for his dedication and commitment to Holy Cross ice hockey is Coach Jim Welch, who is retiring after many years of service.

Tier 2 Player of the Year
Mike Saraullo - Holy Cross High School

Saraullo led the league in minutes played and finished second overall with a goals against average of 2.26 and an 11-2-5 record.

JVA Player of the Year
Craig Rushmore - Moorestown High School

Rushmore led the league in save percentage while going 10-2-2 and becomes our first underclassmen to win an award.

JVB Player of the Year
Jacob Mitchell - Lenape High School

Mitchell led his team in scoring and was a driving force in leading Lenape to a 12-1-2 record.

Best Defenseman
Josh Haynes - Williamstown High School

Haynes uses his size and speed to his advantage and was a force at defense all season.

Leadership Award
Paul Gray - Shawnee High School

Gray led the league in wins with 16, goals against with a 2.12 average, while playing on a team that skates 80% underclassmen.

Notes: As always some will not agree with our choices, but no one can dispute the contributions made by all the players and coach. Remember you don't necessarily have to lead the league in scoring to win an award, while that helps we also look at leadership, sportsmanship and discipline.

Other league awards presented:

Tier 2 Glen Holland Award - Ryan Arcaini from Cinnaminson High School

Tier 1 Glen Holland Award - Paul Gray from Shawnee High School

Tier 2 Jeff Burd Award - DJ Nork from Cherry Hill West

Tier 1 Jeff Burd Award - Dan Drazen from Eastern High School

Last Year's Tier 1 Playoffs MVP - Joe Scafisi from Washington Township High School

Copyright South Jersey Sports Online Inc.