Ad SJSports Online
High School Links

Ice Hockey Links

Ice Hockey Spotlight:
Phantoms Hand Out Annual Awards
Law & Meyer Each Honored Twice

Sunday, April 4, 2004

By Al Cohen
Philadelphia Phantoms Correspondent

The Philadelphia Phantoms of the American Hockey League handed out their annual team awards prior to Sunday's regular-season finale against the Binghamton Senators at the Wachovia Spectrum. Phantoms Chief Operating Officer Frank Miceli bestowed six awards, while two others were presented by Phantoms fans.

Right wing Kirby Law and rookie defenseman Freddy Meyer were the big winners tonight, each winning two awards. Law was honored as the team's leading scorer and received the Most Consistent Player Award. Meyer captured the Most Coachable Player and was also voted as the Fans' Choice Award winner through online voting at the Phantoms website,

Defenseman Kirk Furey won the Phan Club's second-annual Unsung Hero Award, left wing Peter Vandermeer took home the Phantoms' Community Service Award, defenseman Randy Jones won the Rookie of the Year Award, John Slaney received the Barry Ashbee Award for being the club's best defenseman, and Nick Deschenes accepted the American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year Award, which recognizes achievement in community service.

2003-04 Awards

Community Service Award - Peter Vandermeer
American Specialty/AHL Man of the Year Award - Nick Deschenes
Most Coachable Player Award - Freddy Meyer
Rookie of the Year - Randy Jones
Barry Ashbee Award (Best Defenseman, Team) - John Slaney
Most Consistent Player Award - Kirby Law
Leading Scorer Award - Kirby Law
Unsung Hero Award - Kirk Furey
Fans' Choice Award - Freddy Meyer

The Phantoms close out the regular season next weekend with games in Albany, Bridgeport and Hershey, respectively.

©2004 South Jersey Sports Online Inc.