SJSports Online
High School Boys Lacrosse

High School Girls Lacrosse

Lacrosse Links

Lacrosse Spotlight:
Barrage Win 23-17; Crowned MLL Champions

Sunday, August 27, 2006

By Erin Vosburgh
Philadelphia Barrage Correspondent

For the second time in team history, Philadelphia wins the MLL Championship game. Roy Colsey was named Bud Light Post Season MVP for his 10-point game.

(Carson, CA) – In front of 5,374 fans at the Home Depot Center in Carson, CA, the Philadelphia Barrage crushed the Denver Outlaws 23-12 in the MLL Championship Game. Roy Colsey was named Bud Light game MVP for his 10-point (6G, 2 2ptG, 2A) performance in the game. The Barrage was crowned the 2006 MLL Champions.

Philadelphia started off the scoring at 12:29 with a goal from rookie midfielder Matt Zash, followed by another goal by Bobby Horsey. Denver answered back going on a three-goal run giving them a one-goal lead. Mike Law scored two of those three goals, along with a goal from Brian Langtry. The Barrage regained the lead with goals scored by B.J. Prager, Justin Smith, Roy Colsey and a two-point goal from Matt Striebel, his first of the season. Denver rookie midfielder Casey Cittadino scored with 0:08 seconds left on the clock to end the quarter. Striebel scored two more goals for Philadelphia to start the second quarter; Langtry scored his second for Denver, leaving his team trailing by four. Each team went goal for goal to finish out the first half. Colsey scored all three of Philadelphia’s goals, two of them counting for two points. Brenden Mundorf and Jeff Zywicki scored for the Outlaws trying to keep them in the game. The score at the end of the half was Philadelphia 14, Denver 7.

Philadelphia came out strong for the second half scoring six goals in a row. Prager, Striebel, Prossner scored for the Barrage, along with two goals from Colsey. Paul Cantabene scored his first game of the afternoon off a face off win during the six-goal run. Brian Dougherty held the Outlaws scoreless for 13 minutes. Mundorf finally broke through and scored two goals in 52 seconds. Jeff Snyder scored off the face off X, leaving his team still trailing by 10 at the end of the third quarter. Mundorf scored his third goal of the afternoon to start the fourth and final quarter. Prager scored on a behind the back shot, his second goal of the afternoon for Philadelphia, ending the four-goal run from Denver. Attackman Matt Brown scored his first goal of the afternoon for the Outlaws at 12:24, trying to start a comeback for his team who are still trailing by nine. Philadelphia ended the fourth quarter with a goal from Smith and Michael Springer. Philadelphia defeated the Outlaws 23-12 to win the MLL title for the second time in team history. Colsey was named the Bud Light Post Season MVP for his 10 point game (6G, 2 2ptG, 2 A).

In 2004, Philadelphia made their first appearance in the playoff in team history and went all the way to win the title. Being crowned the MLL champions, Barrage now have a post-season record of 2-0. The championship game wraps up the 2006 season for the Barrage and the MLL.

Copyright South Jersey Sports Online Inc.