SJSports Online
High School Links

Football Links

Event Spotlight:
FWAA Announces 2002 Outland Trophy Watch List

Saturday, August 10, 2002

By David W. Unkle
SJSports Staff Writer

The following players are considered the top candidates for the 2002 Outland Trophy, which is presented by the Football Writers Association of America to the top interior lineman in college football each season. The winner of the 2002 Outland Trophy will be announced Dec. 12 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. Three finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America Committee in late November and will appear on the show.

The winner also will receive his trophy during a banquet on Jan. 9 in Omaha, Neb. The banquet is sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee, which additionally will honor a past Outland winner at the Doubletree Hotel in downtown Omaha.

Miami's Bryant McKinnie won the 2001 Award while leading his team to the national championship. Tennessee's John Henderson, the 2000 Outland winner, was one of the three finalists for the 2001 Award, but failed to become the second person to win back-to-back Outland Trophies. Dave Rimington of Nebraska (1981 and 1982) remains the only two-time winner.

The Outland Trophy has been presented every year since 1946 and is the third oldest award in major-college football. The award is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn during the turn of the century. Dr. Outland established the award in 1946, a year before his death, with the help of the FWAA. He believed it was important for lineman to receive greater recognition. And for the last 56 years they have because of his award.


Bryan Anderson

OG Pittsburgh
Shawn Andrews OT Arkansas
Ben Archibald OL BYU
Josh Babin DT Western Michigan
Tyler Brayton DT Colorado
Enoch DeMar OG Indiana

Robbie Doane

OT Texas
Derrick Dockery OG Texas
Darnell Dockett DT Florida State
Nat Dorsey OT Georgia Tech
Jeff Faine C Notre Dame
Josh Gardner OT Cincinnati
John Garrison C Nebraska
Adam Goldberg OT Wyoming
Brandon Green DT Rice
Sherko Haji-Rasouli OG Miami, Fla.
Kwame Harris OT Stanford
Tommie Harris DT Oklahoma

Shalimar Jackson

OT New Mex. St.
Al Johnson C Wisconsin
Ben Johnson OT Wisconsin
Cody Johnson C Nevada
Garry Johnson T Arkansas State
Jarret Johnson DT Alabama

William Joseph

DT Miami, Fla.
Jimmy Kennedy DT Penn State
Kenny King DT Alabama
Dan Klecko DL Temple
Dan Koppen C Boston College
Rodney Leisle DT UCLA
Wayne Lucier C Colorado
Eric Manning DT Oregon State
Vince Manuwai OL Hawaii
Matt Martinez C Idaho
Nate McPeek OT Marshall
Rodney Michael C Fresno State
Kindall Moorehead DT Alabama
Quincy Myles DL Louisiana Tech
Lance Nimmo OT West Virginia
Joe Olivo NT New Mexico State
Mark Parenteau OG Boston College
Tony Pashos OT Illinois
Tim Provost OT San Jose State
Jimond Pugh C Memphis
Tank Reese DT Kansas State
Rex Richards OG Texas Tech
Brian Rimpf OT East Carolina
Derrick Roche OG Wash. St.
Brett Romberg C Miami, Fla.
Nick Romeo C Syracuse
Mike Saffer OT UCLA
Walter Sampson NG La.-Lafayette
Steve Sciullo OT Marshall
Ian Scott DT Florida
Garrett Smith DT Utah
Eric Steinbach OG Iowa
Jon Stinchcomb OL Georgia
David Upchurch NT West Virginia
Matt Walters DT Miami, Fla.
Ty Warren DL Texas A&M

Brandon Westbrook

OT Mid. Tenn.
Todd Wike OG Maryland
Brett Williams OT Florida State

©2002 South Jersey Sports Online Inc.