As an amateur ump in a girls ASA fast pitch softball game I had the following situation:
As part of a play, the ball was thrown to third base, the fielder missed the ball and it bounced to the opening of the third base dugout (the offensive teams dugout). The dugout is fenced, with an average opening to enter the field. However, a person (non-player, probably a manager) was standing "in the dug out" (feet were on the cement that defines the dugout) but leaning against the edge of the opening and leaning out past the fence a bit.
While in play, the over thrown ball hit the person standing in the opening of the dug out and stayed in play. Had that person not been standing there, the ball would have entered the dugout and the call would have been straight forward: dead ball, out of play, 1 1 from time of throw.
What should the call have been? Interference, Dead ball, return to last touched base? Or, Dead ball, out of play, 1 1?
Does it make any difference that it was the offensive teams dugout? Does it make any difference that it was a non coach/player that the ball hit? I have looked up the rules on interference, but the fact that the person was standing on the border of the dugout really confuses the issue for me. Is there any rule that specifically relates to this case? (Rodney from Orem, UT)